Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

A peek into the hurt box

Posted by thepeteplan on January 29, 2010

On the menu for today was a final attempt at the concept2 challenge series 10k. With a best so far of 35:50 (1:47.5), which was actually slightly faster pace than the best 5k I managed last month, the plan was to take a look into the hurt box in preparation for a good 2k in Boston.

The actual pacing plan was to begin at 1:45 / 28 and see how well I could hold that and if I could break 35mins. I always knew this was a very ambitious target to take 2.5seconds off the split of my best recent 10k. Here’s how it went in 2k splits:

7:00.2 / 1:45.0 / 28
7:01.3 / 1:45.3 / 28
7:03.3 / 1:45.8 / 28
7:04.2 / 1:46.0 / 28
6:58.8 / 1:44.7 / 29

10k = 35:07.7 / 1:45.3 / 28

It was certainly the furthest I’ve been into the hurt box in recent times. There wasn’t quite enough there to hold the 1:45’s through the middle, or the balls to risk pushing a 2sec faster pace for the final 2k in order to get under 35. Overall happy with the time and the effort level, and the big improvement on recent distance times.

28 is a good 10k rate for me, but really a little light for this pace. Today was all about getting the best time possible for the challenge series though, so it’s ok to lighten the stroke. The stroke rate was indeed the key today. In the 3rd km when I started dropping to 1:46’s it was when the rate dropped to 27. I find that once you get into a rhythm on these distance pieces the stroking power tends to stay constant, and so if the rate drops so does the pace. To get through the hard middle of this piece I decided that 1:45 or 1:46 was fine, and it was all about getting to the final 2k. An enjoyable row, in a sadistic kind of way.

Phil commented to the previous entry if I’d thought about putting a 10k training plan on the blog. Not a bad idea, and there aren’t many out there, and there are certain types of interval session I like to do in 10k prep, different to those for 5k or 2k prep. What I would like to do is a proper phase of training to peak for a marathon, and if my idea of marathon prep works publish that as an alternative plan. I feel that the erg marathon training plans out there don’t prep you in the best way to row a fast marathon, more to endurance a long distance.

4 Responses to “A peek into the hurt box”

  1. Tim said

    Well done Pete. That should make the challenge series very interesting!

  2. thepeteplan said

    Thanks Tim – I thought I’d done enough to get to 4th, but just missed out. With 2 rounds left I’m going to have to recover from that bad 5k last month with 2 solid performances if I have a chance of third. With a 2k in Boston mid month Feb is good timing for a 2.5k.

  3. Stuart Bizzarri said

    Hi Pete going to give your plan a go soon, having read through it the plan will fit in well with the time I have at the moment and it looks easy to track progress on. I would also agree a good 10k plan would be useful. I followed a self designed 10k plan when I broke the British record and it worked well for me.

  4. phil said

    Awesome Pete. So close on the time, I’m sure you can duck under 35 mins soon. I don’t know how you have the aerobic fitness to maintain that pace and rating for so long.

    Per your response to my comment, it would be great for you to post a 10K training guide. As you stated, you’ve done some unique 10K prep work over the past couple of months and it’d be very helpful to have this consolidated in one place so others can benefit from your insight.

    Keep up the good work!

    Phil

Leave a comment