Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

750m reps and 250m reps

Posted by thepeteplan on November 10, 2013

Tuesday 5th November:

5 x 750m / 3:30 rest:
2:23.8 / 1:35.8 / 33
2:23.9 / 1:35.9 / 33
2:23.8 / 1:35.8 / 33
2:23.7 / 1:35.8 / 33
2:22.2 / 1:34.8 / 34

3750m = 11:57.4 / 1:35.6 / 33

A good 0.5 second improvement on the average pace compared to the last time I’d done the session. I had a sore throat at the time, and didn’t think too much of it. I had a short work trip for the following couple of days, so had some enforced time off training anyway. The 2 days off turned in to 3 days off due to a cold though, and by Saturday morning I wanted to do something just to take away that mental feeling of losing all the fitness you’ve built up. I picked this month’s CTC challenge. How hard can 4 reps of 250m be when you have a long 3min rest between them. I foolishly thought that this session would be nice and easy, and the safe choice when I still have a cold. I was quite wrong it turned out.

Saturday 9th November:

4 x 250m / 3min rest (Cross Team Challenge):
40.7 / 1:21.4 / 44
40.9 / 1:21.8 / 44
41.0 / 1:22.0 / 45
41.4 / 1:22.8 / 43

1000m = 2:43.9 / 1:21.9 / 44

The first 2 reps didn’t feel too bad. By rep 3 the pace was fading a little by the last few strokes though. On rep 4 it really hit hard though. At the half way point I knew the pace was only getting slower. Stroke by stroke the lactic acid flooded my muscles, the stroke became shorter by necessity, my legs delivering less and less power each stroke. There was nothing I could do to maintain the pace. The only thing that kept me going through the final 80m was the overwhelming desire not to have to repeat this session!

Part of this was getting the pacing pretty much spot on such that the final rep was 100% flat out and fading quickly at the end. No doubt having a cold really didn’t help though, especially in the recovery from the session. I normally recover quickly from any training session, but after this one I sat on the stairs for over 10 minutes before my heart rate felt like it was back under about 100bpm (compared to a resting rate of under 45), and my breathing was approaching normal again.

Today I feel pretty much fully recovered, from the cold as well as the session. But I am forcing myself to have another rest day before the hard work begins again, as a prolonged illness is the one thing that can ruin all of the good training with 4 weeks left to go before the British Indoor Rowing Championships.

Leave a Reply

 
