Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

3 x 2k / 5min rest

Posted by thepeteplan on October 8, 2013

I had a 3 x 2k / 5min rest session on the plan for today, a session which I had last done in the week before I began on this phase of pre-competition training. So now in the middle of Week 6 this session was last rowed 6 weeks ago. At that time I aimed for two reps just breaking 7mins, and a final rep hard. At that time I achieved times of 6:59.4, 6:59.3 and 6:45.8. In order to get a good measure of improvement I decided that I would target about the same pace on the first 2 reps, then see how much faster I could push the final rep.

3 x 2k / 5min rest:

2k = 6:57.3 / 1:44.3 / 29

2k = 6:57.5 / 1:44.3 / 29

2k = 6:39.6 / 1:39.9 / 31

6000m = 20:34.4 / 1:42.8 / 29

So the first 2 reps were 0.5 quicker pace, just because I couldn’t resist pushing them just a bit quicker than last time. The final rep I just wanted to get under 1:40 pace, which gave me a 6.2 second improvement on the final rep, or 1.6seconds in pace. For comparison, the stroke rates were identical rep for rep. I felt a bit sluggish today throughout the session, but this is a good improvement over the session, and a solid sub 6:40 on the final rep at a controlled stroke rate.

One Response to “3 x 2k / 5min rest”

  1. Mike Creamer said

    That’s a big improvement Pete especially on your final rep! I hope to see you online for the Friday session.

Leave a Reply

 
