Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

First repeat session = 6 x 600m / 2min rest

Posted by thepeteplan on October 1, 2013

Today’s session was the first full repeat of an interval session on the plan. This was the first session at the beginning of Week 1, and we are now on the second core session of Week 5. I pushed the session hard in Week 1 wanting to set my intentions for this phase of training, and make the most of the time available. So it wasn’t going to be an easy target, even though 4 weeks of training have passed by since. Last time I did the first few reps at high 1:36s (1:36.9 / 1:36.8), but my overall average for the session was 1:36.1. I decided today to go in true Pete Plan style and aim pretty much for the average from last time for the first 5 reps with a fast last.

6 x 600m / 2min rest:

1:55.1 / 1:35.9 / 33

1:55.2 / 1:36.0 / 33

1:55.2 / 1:36.0 / 33

1:55.2 / 1:36.0 / 33

1:55.1 / 1:35.9 / 33

1:52.6 / 1:33.8 / 35

3600m = 11:28.4 / 1:35.6 / 33

I’m pretty happy with that session. I feel a bit run down this week, like I have something lingering below the surface, a cold or virus or similar. Yesterday I had to quit a steady 10k at 6k because I simply felt completely drained of energy. I made sure to eat something pre session today to ensure I didn’t feel the same. I’m trying to push the pace down for all of these sessions to enable me to hold a quicker pace for a 2k. The fast last reps help with the final push, both physically and mentally in a 2k race, but the sustained pace for the rest of the session is what gives me the tools, and the mental belief, to hold a quicker pace through the middle part of the 2k.

Leave a Reply

 
