Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

5 x 1250m / 3:30 rest

Posted by thepeteplan on September 8, 2013

Following on from the 5min reps from Friday, today’s workout was a 5 x 1250m with 3min30 rest between reps. When I’m in a period of hard training I always feed off one hard session for the motivation for the next. As I had done the 5min reps just under 1:45 pace on Friday, these reps at around 45seconds shorter with over double the rest period had to be a couple of seconds quicker pace. In turn, from the last blog entry I said that I mentally worked through those 5min reps by comparing them to recent single 5k pieces. Had I simply looked back to the last time I did 1250m reps I would have likely found that I did them with either 4 or 5min rest, and probably no quicker than 1:44 pace. So you have to look at current form, not necessary the exact same session from some time in the past.

So that’s where the target came from, and a 1:43 starting pace for rep 1. After the 90sec rest for the 5min reps on Friday the 3:30 rest today felt great. I was aerobically recovered in the first 90seconds of each rest period, but the extra rest time gave me time to take on some water, and stretch my quads a little to keep loose. I knew going through the third rep that it was simply a matter of how much quicker I could do the final rep, not whether I could maintain pace. I love this feeling in the middle of an interval session, as it takes your mind off the next rep and a half until you begin that final rep, and your mind is already convinced that it will be no trouble.

Overall another good solid session, with week 1 of the BIRC build up complete.

5 x 1250m / 3:30 rest:

4:17.1 / 1:42.8 / 30

4:16.9 / 1:42.7 / 30

4:16.5 / 1:42.6 / 31

4:15.7 / 1:42.2 / 31

4:07.4 / 1:38.9 / 32

6250m = 21:13.6 / 1:41.8 / 30

Leave a Reply

 
