Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Steady day and the weekly plan

Posted by thepeteplan on September 4, 2013

Today was steady rowing day. I try to do these on rowpro now when I can as it gives you something to watch (on the laptop screen) while you’re rowing to take away the boredom. Not really needed for short sessions like this, but still helps.

30mins = 8001m / 1:52.5 / 24

I have been thinking about how to format my training week to help motivate me to keep up the harder sessions. Monday to Thursday I am out of the house at 0700 and not back in the door until 1800. With the commute and working day I don’t always have the motivation, or often really the time, for particularly hard or particularly long evening sessions. Or at least I have other priorities these days that mean I don’t want my life to be work, train, eat, sleep and repeat. On Fridays I still leave home at 0700 but am home by 1300, so Friday afternoons are a good time for a longer hard session. So my training week will have a core session on Friday and Sunday, and therefore only requiring one core session on a longer week day. So in general this will mean Tuesday for the (shorter but faster) 2k paced sessions, and Friday and Sunday for the longer core sessions. This should then be something I can stick to even when my masters degree classes start again in a few weeks time.

When I was at my fastest I had much more flexibility, and more time available. I trained at lunchtime (hence the blog title), and had a 5minute commute to work. Long sessions and on some days double sessions were no issue. But you have to train within your constraints, and make the training work the best way you can within those.

Leave a Reply

 
