Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

And another month passes

Posted by thepeteplan on July 2, 2013

I spent the first week of June working in India. I had never been that far east before, and it was somewhat of a cultural shock, and quite a heat shock being over 40 degrees C every day. I could write a lot about the week, but as this is a training blog I will stick to that for now. In the 6 days away I managed two gym sessions when I was staying in a hotel on the first and last day (the rest of the time was spent living in a cabin on an Indian Air Force base). No rowing machine, unsurprisingly, so it was just running and weights.

Since I got back from India I have been training, though nothing overly structured. At the moment I am on the balancing act between work, travel to work, masters degree study, coaching, training, and then right down at the bottom of the list blogging about training. I have around 3 to 4 weeks of the current masters degree term to go and then once the assignments are handed in I will have the summer off. Hopefully I will then have time for a few weeks of structured and hard training! Coaching wise I get a number of emails each week from people asking me if I’m still available for remote coaching as I don’t mention it really when I blog. The simple answer is yes I am, but I am not actively trying to push the coaching, or if anything I am actively trying not to push it (if the distinction makes sense). I am currently coaching around a dozen athletes in various places (UK, USA, Canada, Faroe Islands, France, Norway, Ireland), but I am trying to keep the numbers down as much as possible due to the time I have available.

On to training, a few recent sessions:

Tue 2nd July: 30r20 = 8065m / 1:51.5 / 20

Sun 30th June: 60mins on rowpro = 16001m / 1:52.4 / 25

Mon 24th June: 6 x 1k / 1min rest = 20:46.6 / 1:43.8 / 29

Sun 23rd June: 60mins = 16324m / 1:50.2 / 26

I did train between the 24th and 30th, but it can’t have been anything too interesting as I didn’t take a photo of the monitor. I really should start writing in my training diary again…

Leave a Reply

 
