Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

6k CTC and 30r20

Posted by thepeteplan on August 1, 2012

I decided at 9pm last night, just after dinner, that as there was nothing much on tv I should really do a training session. I hadn’t done the CTC so had a look what it was, then went out to the garage and set 6k on the clock. Have I really got this unfit?

6k = 22:16.5 / 1:51.3 / 24
1k splits:
1:49.0 / 24
1:50.3 / 24
1:52.1 / 24
1:54.5 / 23
1:53.7 / 24
1:48.6 / 27

I put it down to being fairly late at night and right after dinner, because this didn’t feel easy. One of those rows where it just feel like a never ending slog as the pace gets slower and slower.

On to tonight and I thought I’d do a 30r20 for a bit of fitness work. It felt like a hard slog again, amazing how far 30mins feels at a good pace when you’re not fit, isn’t it? But it didn’t actually feel too hard in terms of pacing, I was never in doubt of being able to hit 8k. So I’m perhaps not terribly unfit, just not mentally conditioned to rowing hard at the moment.

30mins = 8004m / 1:52.4 / 20
5min splits:
1:52.0 / 20
1:52.4 / 20
1:52.4 / 20
1:52.5 / 20
1:53.0 / 20
1:52.1 / 20

One thing I notice when I’m not as well mentally conditioned is that I feel like I’m working really hard when I’m operating a little under AT, and when I push past AT I feel much more comfortable. I am pretty sure that most “normal” people think they are nearly at max when they are working out at approaching AT, and it is the process of learning how much more you have to give above that level that makes you faster and fitter. Of course this could all be BS as I don’t use a heart rate monitor!

I am trying to practice what I preach at the moment in terms of setting myself rules that I can stick to in order to ensure I get a reasonable amount of good quality training in. So my aim in never to take more than 1 day off in a row, ie if I don’t row today I have to row tomorrow. I no longer limit myself to a 30min minimum, as I figure that at the moment something is better than nothing, so if all I have time for is 5k I do 5k. And finally I work hard every session unless I am rowing on consequtive days and worked particularly hard the day before.

Leave a Reply

 
