Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Reaching peak performance

Posted by thepeteplan on April 28, 2012

This morning:

10k = 37:56.7 / 1:53.8 / 23

It is usually a good sign when my steady distance work feels good. Often these rows are the toughest in the week mentally. I never warm up for a steady distance row, and as such it is usually a struggle for the first 7 or 8mins until I get reasonably warmed up. Today I just locked on to 1:54 pace from the start and felt good.

After work yesterday it was out to the garage early evening for a 5 x 1250m interval session. Target pace just under 1:43 with a fast last.

5 x 1250m / 3min rest:
4:17.3 / 1:42.9 / 28
4:17.2 / 1:42.8 / 29
4:16.8 / 1:42.7 / 29
4:14.9 / 1:41.9 / 30
4:10.0 / 1:40.0 / 30

6250m / 21:16.2 / 1:42.0 / 29

After 3 reps I was thinking this is quite tough. Then I reminded myself that my 30min pb pace is 1:42.6, and I wasn’t even going that quickly for a session that would be not much over 2/3rds that duration with 12mins of rest in it. I have come to realise lately just how hard I used to train day in, day out, week in, week out, and how fast I actually was. When I see the calibre of people on the racing circuit now who are doing between 6:13 and 6:19 there are some really strong and fit althletes who I view as being very fast and talented. When I was consistently racing 2k between 6:11 and 6:15 I didn’t think of myself as particularly fast because there were a number of people racing then who were way faster than me (Benton, Fleming, Larkman etc), and quite a few around the same pace (Insje, Parker, O’Grady etc).

It takes a special combination of factors to be truely fast for your potential. I feel like I’m training pretty hard, and that I’ve been training reasonably consistently in terms of us amateur athletes. But having been training and performing at a fair bit higher level in the past I think I have a good perception of what training hard really is, and what racing fast really is. It just takes a long time, a lot of dedication, the right life style factors to allow it, and of course a good dose of genetics to determine where your potential can actually take you. Take any one of those factors away and you’re not going to get to that top level (for your personally). Nothing wrong with that, but it is worth keeping in mind.

Thursday was a neg split moderate 10k in the garage after work. I like training in the garage in the evening, very basic, not very well lit, no sound aside from the flywheel and my breathing, reasonably cold.

Thursday:
10k = 37:28.5 / 1:52.4 / 24
2k splits:
1:55.1 / 23
1:53.8 / 23
1:52.7 / 24
1:51.8 / 25
1:48.6 / 27

The overall consistency in the training is also starting to pay off on the scales, 3lbs lighter this morning than I’ve seen on the scales in the past year, and this all helps to feel quicker on the erg. That means I am currently 7lbs lighter than I was at the world indoor rowing champs in Boston in February.

Leave a Reply

 
