Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Newark IRC – 2k race

Posted by thepeteplan on November 16, 2011

I blogged in the run up to the Newark IRC that my prep had been far from perfect, mainly due to a chest cold that had taken me out of action for around 2 weeks prior to the race. I wanted to use the event still as a baseline before I begin a 15 week phase next Monday aiming towards the World IRC in February. The plan was therefore to pick a pace that I was sure I could do (well, as sure as you can be having done no real speed work), and aim to race from 500m out for the best position I could get, rather than purely time trialling the distance.

The plan I decided on was a base pace of 1:37-1:38. Why this pace? I knew I was not in shape to get close to 6:20, and wanted to ensure I went under 6:30! The Newark IRC was my first ever race in 2001 where I rowed a 6:30.7, so I had no intention of going slower than that. Here is how the race went:

500m splits:

1:37.8 / 31
1:38.0 / 31
1:37.8 / 31
1:33.6 / 34

2k = 6:27.2 / 1:36.8 / 31

That was good enough for second in the men’s 30+ heavy weight race, with first place in 6:22 and third in 6:29. I didn’t move into 2nd position until about 300m from the line, and put in a good sprint finish from just inside 250m to ensure the position. All in all a baseline performance I am happy with at this stage of training, and with the interupted run-up.

Leave a Reply

 
