Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

4 days to go and future training

Posted by thepeteplan on November 8, 2011

There are now 4 potential training days left before the Newark IRC 2k competition on Saturday, and I have done no training worth blogging since my last entry on 28th October. I have always trained by the rules that if a cold is neck and above I train through it (albeit at a lower intensity normally), but if it is below the neck I rest it out. I don’t remember ever actually having to take complete rest before due to a chest cold, but I have had to for much of the past 2 weeks. With only 4 days left before the race it will be all about getting my head in the right place, my body to remember what it has to do, and a plan in place for the race. It will not be a time trial for me now because I am not capable of the sort of time I would want to do, so I will simply be racing for the best position possible on the day. Many people would say that time trialling for the best time is the only good method of achieving that best position, but I don’t think this is always the case for the experienced racer. We’ll see how it works out.

As for future training we are now something like 14 weeks away from the World Indoor Rowing championships in Boston, USA. I will be running a training group for the 12 weeks leading up to the race as I have done the past couple of years, and I believe that means it will begin on Monday 21st November 2011. Email me for details if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

 
