Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Back to basics

Posted by thepeteplan on October 28, 2011

It is time to go back to basics somewhat on my training. When I’m training inconsistently I generally avoid other forms of training that impact the quality of the erg training. But when I’m not training as often as I would like, or at as high standard as I would like, this is a detriment to my overall fitness and condition. So I am going to go back to basics and make sure I do at least an hour of cardio exercise at least 5 days a week. I won’t change what I am doing on the erg, but I will supplement it with other cardio (stepper, bike, running) to ensure I get the hour+ of aerobic exercise each day.

I’ve been trying to do “just enough” for a while now, balancing a busy work life, a new commuting life, MSc studies, coaching, family life and training. My performances are just starting to get too inconsistent such that I can’t maintain the pace I set out on a session at some days, and exceed expectations other days. I’ve also been doing the majority of my hard training sessions and not enough for the easy distance pieces. The training this week is further evidence of this:

Monday:

4 x 1k / 5min rest:
3:14.1 / 1:37.0 / 31
3:14.3 / 1:37.1 / 31
3:17.9 / 1:38.9 / 30
3:24.5 / 1:42.2 / 28

4k = 13:10.8 / 1:38.8 / 30

Wednesday:

5k = 17:36.7 / 1:45.6 / 27
1k splits:
1:45.8 / 27
1:45.9 / 27
1:46.0 / 27
1:45.9 / 27
1:44.6 / 28

The idea of Monday’s session is clear – the plan was 1:37 for 3 reps and a fast last – something that should be very hard but within my current capabilities from the mile a couple of days before. But on that day it was not there. Wednesday’s session is less clear on paper, it just looks like a solid medium paced 5k. In reality the plan was 1:46s for the first 3k to set me up for a fast push over the last 2k. When I approached 2k to go the only way I could even keep going from that point was to compromise between body and mind and stick to the same pace!

With a little over 2 weeks to go before the Newark IRC 2000m race that will be a good opportunity to baseline where I am, then get the overall training balance back in order for the run up to Boston in February. I still think that on a good day I will be under 6:25 for the 2k in Newark, and even on a bad day I will be under 6:30. My first ever erg race was in Newark in 2001 where I rowed a 6:30.7 so I certainly don’t want to be anywhere close to that!

One Response to “Back to basics”

  1. phil white said

    Fitting in time for training certainly gets harder over time, Pete. Often I find myself doing an SBN (Something’s Better than Nothing) weights circuit – four or five compound exercises with no breaks between them, three sets of each.

    Have been standup paddleboarding when time allows this summer (there’s even an erg attachment now in the US for off-water work) but now that the lakes in Kansas are cold it’s time to get back into the rowing. Pete Plan Lite, here I come!

Leave a Reply

 
