Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

60mins = ‘Steady’ distance

Posted by thepeteplan on March 30, 2011

I wanted to push out the steady distance row today to longer than my “standard” 10k distance, so set 60mins on the clock. I went out a bit too hard for a ‘steady’ piece, so decided to back off the pace for a while at half way to keep the overall intensity level down a little. The total duration was the important part today, and I want to build myself up to doing this type of distance again for all of the steady rows.

60mins = 15834m / 1:53.6 / 23

10min splits:
1:51.9 / 24
1:51.9 / 24
1:52.0 / 24
1:59.0 / 20
1:56.5 / 22
1:51.0 / 24

I knew approaching half way that if I carried on at pace I would get too tempted to push the closer I got to the end to maximise the distance, hence the deliberate deduction in pace for 20mins from there.

Leave a Reply

 
