Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

3 x 15mins / 2r (5kTG Week 2)

Posted by thepeteplan on March 9, 2011

The second core session of week 2, and one I thought would be pretty straight forward.

3 x 15mins / 2min rest:
4165m / 1:48.0 / 26
4166m / 1:48.0 / 27
4214m / 1:46.7 / 28

45mins = 12545m / 1:47.6 / 27

I always think that these longer interval sessions will be pretty easy, but they never turn out that way. I am convinced that it’s all mental, because it doesn’t really get any harder physically from towards the end of rep 1 right to the end, but that doesn’t stop me wanting to quit the session from near the start of rep 2. In some ways I think I would find 45mins straight at the same pace mentally easier, but I know that with the short breaks to be able to drink some water and stretch a little it makes recovery from the session quicker, and overall makes the general fatigue from the session less.

Yesterday was just a steady 10k:

10k = 37:58.1 / 1:53.9 / 23

 
I’m still not sure which way to go on the easier sessions either. I’ve had most success in the past from rowing the steady sessions at this sort of rate and pace combination. When I restrict them to 20spm, no matter how slow I go (within reason) I don’t find them as effective in the overall training plan. Or more correctly, if I do the steady sessions at any pace at 20spm then I find them too physically fatiguing and so they impact on the harder sessions. As I find 1:54 / 23 “easier” than 1:59 / 20 I don’t really see the point in going for the slower option. Any views would be welcome, what benefit would I actually get sticking to a lower restricted rate on the steady rows? Bearing in mind that ideally I would like to build back up to rowing 2k races at 33/34spm, so these are still 10spm under race rate. 20spm just seems like an arbitrary rate, and what works for a 6’6 guy who wants to move a boat fast and rows 2k at 30spm is probably different to what should work for a 5’11 guy who just wants to move an erg fast.
Leave a Reply

 
