Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The importance of targets

Posted by thepeteplan on March 2, 2011

The second core session of the 5k training plan today shows the importance of targets. I carefully set the targets for everyone in the training group on a spreadsheet taking into account recent session performances and the planned aims of the session. Using the same logic applied to other people’s targets for this session my target was 1:43 for 3 reps, and a faster last rep. The normal problem for the self coached athlete though, I thought 1:43 was too close to 6:50 not to just push the first 3 reps under 6:50, but really 1:42.4 pace is quite a bit faster than 1:43.

4 x 2k / 5min rest:
6:49.8 / 1:42.4 / 28
6:49.5 / 1:42.3 / 29
6:49.7 / 1:42.4 / 29
6:51.5 / 1:42.8 / 29

8k = 27:20.5 / 1:42.5 / 28

This session felt tough from the outset, not just mentally but physically. Not so much the pace, but I just felt somewhat lacking in energy. I was having to play mental games as early as rep 2, and rep 3 was hard enough for me to revise my strategy for rep 4. For the final rep I rowed the majority at 1:44 pace, just picking up the pace from about 400m out – not quite enough to bring it right back to target.

I do find that these 5k type reps improve quite quickly though when you’ve not been doing them very hard for a while, so I hope to get this down close to 1:40’s throughout by the end of the 5k TG.

And I know it wasn’t just a mental stuggle as I have the tell tale running nose and sneezing, which always follows a hard interval set for me.

Leave a Reply

 
