Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

8 x 500m / 3:30 rest

Posted by thepeteplan on January 25, 2011

The first 2k paced work we did on the B2B training plan was an 8 x 500m / 2:30 session back in Week 5. At that point of the training, having completed 4 weeks of 5k focussed work, I made the decision that going any longer than 2min30 on the rest period would have little or no effect on the pace the athletes could achieve, and would only serve to make the workout 7 minutes longer. With 4 weeks of speed work now in our legs extended to the standard (Pete Plan standard anyway) 3min30 rest will hopefully allow a little more emphasis on the quality of the reps, and towards the end of the set the extra rest will be needed. I completed that first 8 x 500m set on 26th December, almost exactly 1 month ago, and averaged 1:34.3 pace, with a fastest (last) rep at 1:33.8. My target for today was a significant jump forward at 1:33.0.

8 x 500m / 3:30:
1:33.0 / 34
1:33.0 / 33
1:32.9 / 34
1:32.9 / 34
1:32.9 / 34
1:32.9 / 34
1:32.9 / 34
1:32.2 / 34

Totals: 4k = 12:22.7 / 1:32.8 / 33

Quite clearly a 34 average, but recorded as the PM gave it to me. It was the right intensity – hard work, but never in doubt of completing the next rep on target.

When I did do this set at 2k-3 pace, way back in the old days when I was quite fast, the intensity was so much higher than I seem to be able to tolerate on intervals now. On this sort of set by rep 6 I would not be able to stand up, if I tried my legs would buckle under me. I’d have to do a “Larry flop” following reps 6, 7 and 8, and lay on my back next to the erg sucking in as much oxygen as possible, legs screaming with lactic acid. 2k’s used to feel pretty straight forward compared to the brutal-ness of sets like this. I just don’t know how I did intervals at that sort of intensity level week in, week out and completed them. If I tried to do it now I wouldn’t be able to keep pace in the second half of the set.

Leave a Reply

 
