Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

B2B – Week 5 – more speed work

Posted by thepeteplan on December 28, 2010

We’re now into Week 5 of the BIRC to Boston training group, and I will be training in Seattle for the duration of week’s 5 and 6 of the plan (or actually in a gym around 10miles outside Seattle). I flew over here yesterday (Monday) afternoon, arriving around 4.30pm local time. What better way to start your 2 week holiday than walking into the gym at 5.40am ready for some 2k paced intervals. It may sound dedicated that I was warmed up and rowing my first rep at pace by 6am on the first day of my holiday, but in reality as we’re 8 hours behind GMT here it was really 2pm on my body clock, and I’d been up for over 2 hours anyway.

The first session of Week 5 is bringing in some longer work at “race pace”, but a fairly short session overall.

1k = 3:09.8 / 1:34.9 / 32
4min rest
750m = 2:22.3 / 1:34.8 / 32
4min rest
500m = 1:34.0 / 33
4min rest
500m = 1:33.7 / 33

2750m = 8:39.8 / 1:34.5 / 32

I really need to make these speed sessions count over the next 8 weeks, they have to be the priority in terms of effort. I don’t expect to get 6 sessions in each week while I’m away, so I will make sure that the quality of each session I do is high.

One Response to “B2B – Week 5 – more speed work”

  1. Garth said

    What a great work out ….. Very challenging to keep the pace up after the 1st 1k interval.

    Thanks for the great workout.

Leave a Reply

 
