Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

10k Season best – with video!

Posted by thepeteplan on December 15, 2010

I had a day trip out today to Brighton for a 10k time trial with a friend of mine, Casey. Casey and I had done a 10k time trial together before in my gym some month ago when I just broke 35mins, and Casey was some 30+ seconds behind me. New to the sport he’d been improving rapidly since, and was in form to smash his 35:31 pb. I wanted Casey to believe in himself, and go for sub 35mins rather than settle for “just” getting a pb, and so when we discussed pacing plans I made it clear that I would be targetting sub 35mins, and so if he wanted to beat me that was the least he should be targetting.

With that in mind my pacing plan was for flat 1:45’s, and then a push towards the end with whatever I had left, and to try to win. Here is how it went:

10k = 34:50.7 / 1:44.5 / 28
2k splits:
1:44.9 / 28
1:44.9 / 28
1:45.1 / 28
1:45.1 / 28
1:42.5 / 29

It went to plan, but Casey was on a flyer, and there was never a chance of catching back up at the end with his huge new pb of 34:33, nearly 1min faster than he’s ever gone before! This is the fastest 10k I have done all year, and it felt good. My fitness is picking up all the time, and I’m enjoying the training because of it.

I said with video, so here are a few clips taken during the row. I am in the white vest, Casey on my left:

3 Responses to “10k Season best – with video!”

  1. alan168 said

    fantastic effort lads. two different style on view I think. Casey must be very strong as he is stroking slower and looks more relaxed but clearly working harder than appearances.
    incredible.

  2. Rizzio said

    Great SB, Pete. Darn good effort, and must be a great confidence booster, as you say. Meanwhile Casey is really beginning to fly – with no visible effort at all. Good to include the clips in the blog. Keep up the good work. Michael

  3. Stuart Thorp said

    Great clips, enjoyed watching all four. I particlarly liked pete’s technique of reaching forward ready for the drive then leaning back at the end of the drive thus making a longer stroke. I think I’ve asked you before Pete but what DF do you use when pulling that kind of pace.

Leave a Reply

 
