Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Monday 2 – Weights

Posted by thepeteplan on December 6, 2010

This will generally be a Tuesday afternoon session, but as I did the first core interval session of the week yesterday I brought forward my first weights session to today. The introduction of weights into my overall training regime will be more of a long term project (so that I don’t try to push it too hard too soon), although I’m sure I will also get some early benefit in the run up to Boston.

I am focussing this weights routine on 3 core compound exercises – cleans, bench press and (following advice) squats. If people think I should be doing deadlifts, as originally planned, either as well as or instead of the squats let me know.

Today was really about trying to judge what sort of weight to do for the exercises, and trying to find a few more useful exercises to make a good 30mins weights routine to do on a weekly (bi-weekly?) basis. Here is the routine from today:

  1. Cleans = Bar + 30kg = 3 sets of 8 reps
  2. Bench press = Bar + 30kg = 3 sets of 10 reps
  3. Squats = Bar + 30kg = 3 sets of 8 reps
  4. Barbell row = Bar + 30kg = 3 sets of 10 reps
  5. Leg press = 70kg = 3 sets of 8 reps
  6. Cable row = 40kg = 3 sets of 8 reps
  7. Bicep curls = 18kg dumbbells = 3 sets of 8 reps

The two exercises that I noted in my training diary that I should do heavier next time are the bench press and the leg press, all the rest seemed a good level to begin on for the first 3 weeks. The squats I could do a fair bit heavier but two things put me off – firstly the impact on the erging for the next two days, and secondly that the gym has no squat rack, so I will be limited to what I can easily clean, then press to behind me head in order to first get into a position to squat from.

I say “Bar +” on the weight exercises, as I don’t think the bars in the gym are proper 20kg olympic bars, they feel a little lighter, perhaps 15kg or so. I will try to remember to stand on the scales with the bar to find out next time I’m in the gym.

Any comments or suggestions? Is this a reasonable mix of exercises to work from in the beginning?

4 Responses to “Monday 2 – Weights”

  1. AH said

    In your situation I believe deadlifts would be the better solution. You are severely limited on squats by not having the rack, while you can go as heavy as you want with deads. I’m in the camp that believes heavy weights gives the greatest erg benefit. I also believe deads are the single best for erg performance anyway, as they work the entire posterior chain. Just one opinion, best of luck with the program!

  2. alan McGlaughlin said

    usually do the rowing first to keep it fresh and then do some weights. our gym doesnt have free weights for clean/squats..so must stand inside that machine and attempt the various exercises. I normally do some bench presses..3X10 @50kg, then squat 40kg. cable rows and the likes give me severe tennis elbow..yet rowing doesnt?! leg presses 85kg 3X15 rapidly..almost springing the weight platform away . some crunches and pressups..to tired.
    not full routine but runs fairly much like this each night.

  3. Garth said

    Are all these comments done on Monday if so that is a heavy work load….

  4. Ken said

    I agree with the first comment. I also find that deadlifts carry over best to the erg. I actually use a trap bar, but either way you will be able to lift much heavier and train a stronger pull, especially since you have no squat racks. For what it’s worth, I am not a fan of small muscle group exercises like biceps curls. They aren’t worth the time. Your arms will get plenty of work from the other lifts.

Leave a Reply

 
