Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Race pace and faster

Posted by thepeteplan on November 12, 2010

I needed a confidence boosting session at my planned 2k pace for the British Championships next weekend, but not an overly long session as I’ve been suffering with a bit of a cold over the past few days. I picked 1200m as a good distance as it gives you the feel of being well into the second half of the race, but stops you before too much fatigue sets in. The plan for the 1200m piece was to row it just how I want to row the first 1200m of the 2k on 21st Nov.

1200m = 3:48.8 / 1:35.3 / 31
200m splits:
1:34.7, 1:35.5, 1:35.5, 1:35.5, 1:35.7, 1:34.7

Other than the slight push in the last 200m here this is just where I would like to be at this stage in the 2k. The rate is on the low end of where I’d like to be, but at least that gives me somewhere to go in the second half. As long as I am at, or under, 1:36.0 average pace will 500m to go I can break 6:20 if the mind is willing. Physically I have no doubt at all (at least now I don’t) that I am in shape to row under 6:20, so it is all about putting myself at the point where I’m close enough to see the finish being both close enough to pace to make it, but far enough from pace not to be pushing too hard yet. Therefore 1:35.5 at half way would be about perfect, where I can either maintain pace in the 3rd 500m, lose a little if needed, or ideally gain a couple of tenths.

I then finished the session off with some short HIT reps again to try to get the rate up ready for that final push:

8 x 100m / 1min rest = 2:09.4 / 1:20.8 / 47

There was even a rep at 1:19.5 in the middle there. A fairly short HIT session, but enough to show me that my legs were still in good shape with 800m to go.

Leave a Reply

 
