Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Know when to rest

Posted by thepeteplan on November 5, 2010

I knew prior to heading to the gym yesterday lunchtime that it was a day to take it easy, so went to do just an easy 30mins. As I have said to the people I coach who are racing at BIRC in a little over 2 weeks time our two main priorities between now and race day are to remain illness and injury free, and to arrive on race day fresh and not fatigued from training too much, too late. Only after those two aspects does the final “sharpening” come into it, and the training sessions we need to do for that. So I set 30mins on the monitor, but I knew by 2k into the workout that I was doing this for the sake of it, and actually a rest day would do me more good. So I called it a day at 2k, and used it just as a good warm up to do some stretching, and aid me being fresher when the next hard workouts comes along.

Leave a Reply

 
