Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Keep your eye on the goal

Posted by thepeteplan on November 3, 2010

I replaced my steady distance row today with a 2 x 20min session to put a time on the board for this month’s CTC challenge. It is not something I want to do fast before the British Championships (now 18 days away), so I had to restrain myself for this one.

2 x 20mins / 5min rest:
5361m / 1:51.9 / 24
5501m / 1:49.0 / 26

40mins = 10862m / 1:50.4 / 25

It was nice to do this at a comfortable pace – it will be a really tough session when done hard. I am wondering how many people will manage to top 12k by the end of the month. There are a number of people who take part in the CTC challenges who are capable of this (1:40 pace), but it is down to whether it will fit in with their training at this time of year or not. I have never managed to break 20mins for 6k once, never mind twice, so I think my limit at the moment will be around 11.5k total (1:44 pace), which might make a nice round target for the end of the month.

Whether people do this session as a steady (UT1 type intensity) session, or flat out, it is a good fitness session to try multiple times through November.

Leave a Reply

 
