Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Lack of motivation

Posted by thepeteplan on October 5, 2010

I was going to write about my current lack of motivation to train hard, but then I read my last blog entry from 4 days ago when I did the October CTC pyramid. That was a tough session, and so I actually don’t feel like I’m lacking motivation any more – this is one of the benefits of blogging your training that it is easy to look back and see exactly what you’ve been doing, and how you felt about it. Following that session I just did one easy 30min row at home over the weekend. Then Monday I didn’t get a chance to go to the gym during the day and was too tired to row when I got home from work, so instead I went out for a 30min run straight when I go in – no stop watch, no pressure.

Another physically tiring day at work today, and hence the feeling of a lack of motivation to train after work. Rather than struggle through a steady distance piece, or fail in the planning for a harder interval session, I pitched the training in the middle. A moderate and steadily negative splitted “steady with breaks” session.

5 x 2k / 2min rest:
7:39.5 / 1:54.8 / 23
7:28.9 / 1:52.2 / 24
7:19.0 / 1:49.7 / 25
7:09.2 / 1:47.3 / 26
6:52.3 / 1:43.0 / 28

10k = 36:29.0 / 1:49.4 / 25

So still 10k in for solid endurance work, with a bit of faster paced work at the end.

Leave a Reply

 
