Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Fast and slow

Posted by thepeteplan on September 15, 2010

In  answer to the comment on my last blog entry, my plan for the challenge series is to get as close to my pace from last year as possible for the 4min challenge. Yesterday I had my second attempt:

4mins = 1289m / 1:33.0 / 34

1min splits:
1:31.4, 1:34.6, 1:34.6, 1:31.7

A fast start than my first attempt, and keeping the pace just under 1:35 through the middle I was still able to finish strongly. The average pace of 1:33.0 is the same as my all time 2k personal best, and still 1.1 seconds slower pace than I achieved last year during the challenge series. The next attempt I will need to keep the rate higher and I think I can match that pace from last year.

With somewhere around 9 or 10 weeks until the British Championships now my aim for that 2000m race is to break 6min20, or 1:35.0 pace. This row is currently about on track for that, with next month’s challenge of 1609m (1mile) then needing to be 1:34.0 or better. Faster is of course ideal, and the further below 1:33.0 I can do for the 4mins, then the further below 1:34.0 I should be able to achieve for the approximately 5min mile – it then follows that the further I should be able to dip under the 6 and a bit minute 2k.

With that aim in mind, and still this far out from the race, I need to keep up the base fitness work. Today was the first time I attempted the hour at a proper “steady” pace:

60mins = 15655m / 1:54.9 / 22

Every 10min split was either 1:54.9 or 1:55.0, and all at 22spm. This was just what I needed as it has been a physically and mentally tiring week so far outside of the rowing world.

Leave a Reply

 
