Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Cross Team Challenge – Take 2

Posted by thepeteplan on September 9, 2010

Yesterday I wrote that I felt fatigued to the extent that I cut a session short to just 25% of it’s planned volume. If anyone I coached said this to me I would tell them to do a very steady session the following day, and for a day or two after that if they didn’t feel fully recovered yet. In the usual form of “do as I say, not as I do” I did the exact opposite today.

CTC attempt2:

10 x 1min / 1minR:
327 / 1:31.7 / 38
328 / 1:31.4 / 38
329 / 1:31.1 / 37
328 / 1:31.4 / 37
327 / 1:31.7 / 37
327 / 1:31.7 / 37
327 / 1:31.7 / 36
327 / 1:31.7 / 37
327 / 1:31.7 / 37
332 / 1:30.3 / 37

10mins = 3285m / 1:31.3 / 37

With a target to beat of 1:31.7 pace from last time my main plan was to try not to do any reps slower than the target average, and the tactic to then improve on the last attempt at the end was simply to keep the stroke rate higher. It worked, I felt better throughout and beat the previous score. Psychologically this attempt was made easier by doing it alongside someone else as well, and he can be my introduction for today.

Craig Hudson, a colleague of mine from work, has been training with me for the odd session since a work trip away in May. As I was going to the gym most days we were away what else could he do but come with me? With technique pointers and increased fitness over that time, probably training on average 2 times per week, Craig has gone below 7:30 for 2k, and set a first ever 60min pb earlier this week. Today’s session, with an average pace of 1:43.1, was his first entry as an independent on the CTC table, so I’m sure this will become a monthly occurance now. His form and fitness shows that it’s only a matter of time before the first sub7 for 2k will come.

Leave a Reply

 
