Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

CTC – still not quite fast enough!

Posted by thepeteplan on August 16, 2010

Another week begins, and time for another attempt at this month’s cross team challenge. It’s a tough challenge this month, close to 2k pace but also shorter rest than most people are accustomed to for reps in this speed range. Most training plans prescribe between 1:1 and 1:2 work to rest for paces around 2k, whereas this session is closer to 2:1 for most people. Why does this make it such a tough session? Because the rest between reps is such that if you go even a little bit too fast for the first 2 reps you can lose ground quickly in the final rep. Here’s how it went today:

3 x 1k / 2r:
3:13.8 / 1:36.9 / 33
3:13.7 / 1:36.8 / 33
3:10.3 / 1:35.1 / 33

3k = 9:37.7 / 1:36.2 / 33

The average pace from my previous attempt was 1:36.9, hence the pace for the first 2 reps this time. What I did differently today was to deliberately keep the rate a little higher, which seemed to work well. Going into the final rep I was confident it would be the fastest, and so I would be setting a faster time. It was then a question of how much faster I could go on the final rep, and so which of my close rivals each month I could pass on the leader board. The last rep felt good. I started off with 5 hard strokes, settled down to 1:37’s, then from 600m out gradually brought the pace down with a final 200m sprint. I finished so strongly that I’m sure there is more left if I do this again next week. I beat my usual two close rivals, but managed to exactly tie another who is a new rival this month having made big technical improvements recently. This is the bad part about being an erg coach as well as competitor as we had done some technique work together when we did a 10k test together a few weeks ago. When we got together for the 60min test on Friday it was obvious he had worked hard on the technical aspects we’d discussed then, so it’s my own fault if he now manages to beat me this month!

Leave a Reply

 
