Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Final race pace work

Posted by thepeteplan on May 19, 2010

The good thing about keeping detailed training diaries is that you can look back to the training running up to any race or test piece to give you a good idea how your form is. I pulled out my 2005 training diary to see what training sessions I’d done in the run up to my 5k pb, a 16:33.6 at a race in Norfolk on 20th August 2005.

The majority of the interval sessions I did in the run up to that race were at very similar paces to those I’m doing now. The big thing that jumps out in the training diary in the period up to that race is the number of single distance hard rows I did in the gym. Multiple sub 17min 5k’s, lots of sub 35min 10k’s (at fairly low rates for me, so not maximal), and a few sub 6:20 2k’s. There is no real substitute for the mental boost these hard pieces give you that the interval training doesn’t really fully satisfy.

That said, taking the training as a whole in the 2 months leading to that 5k I am definitely within 1second of pace on everything, therefore I am physically capable of a time around 16:44. With that in mind, today’s final session at pace was looking towards a pacing plan aiming for a mid 16:40’s time.

4 x 1250m / 3min rest:
4:11.3 / 1:40.5 / 30
4:13.0 / 1:41.2 / 29
4:12.4 / 1:40.9 / 29
4:09.8 / 1:39.9 / 30

5000m = 16:46.5 / 1:40.6 / 29

Fairly comfortable, as it should be. The plan for Saturday will be to aim for 1:41 to 1:42 for the first 3k, trying to get to that point physically within myself (although only a little). Hopefully with an average split of 1:41.5 give or take a couple of tenths at the 2k to go point I will then aim to slowly increase pace, judging the competition, and sprinting the end. I am not physically capable of a new pb at the moment, so I will be racing for the win rather than a time specifically. I truely believe I can outsprint anyone in the race if I’m close to them with 500m to go.

Leave a Reply

 
