Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Early morning 5k

Posted by thepeteplan on May 9, 2010

I always had the intention of doing a hard middle distance row today. The only time available to go to the gym was fairly early this morning, and as I was being joined for the session I couldn’t miss it even though I woke up feeling more like having a day off. After the easy session yesterday I should have felt great this morning, but woke still feeling tired, dehydrated, and just generally aching. I decided on the “easy” option of going right to the short end of the middle distance pieces with a 5k. A good idea with 2 weeks to go to the Farnborough 5k race to row through the distance anyway.

My initial thought was to row 1:42.5 or so for the first 3k, then push in the final 2k to just dip under 17mins. It wasn’t to be today. I felt like I was missing top gear right from the start of the row, and had all but lost interest by 2k to go.

5k = 17:14.7 / 1:43.4 / 27
1k splits:
1:42.5 / 28
1:43.1 / 27
1:43.2 / 27
1:44.7 / 27
1:43.7 / 27

It wasn’t intentional particularly to restrict the stroke rate, as of course 29/30spm is a more normal 5k stroke rate for me. From this I am confident that I can go under 17mins at the race in 2 weeks time, but 16:40 is a little way off just yet.

My colleague who rowed with me did a few sessions when we were in Oman a couple of weeks ago. He picked up the basic technique very quickly, and is rowing more efficiently than 99% of gym rowers already. Still rowing mainly at low rates (20-22spm) he is pulling very respectable times already as well, pulling in a 2:03.7 pace for the 5k today. Hopefully he’ll keep up fairly regular erg work and can look back in a few months time when he’s doing double the distance at this sort of pace and see how far he’s come.

Leave a Reply

 
