Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Rowpro 30mins

Posted by thepeteplan on May 1, 2010

I was about to head out to the gym but luckily looked on rowpro to see there was a full house building for a 30min session setting off about a half hour later. Lots of the big rowpro names like Doug, Tinpusher and Raoul, so how can you refuse? Plan was a 1:50 start then gradual negative split.

Doug went off hard then backed off to a steady 1:50. Bjorn and Dave C went off at a hard 1:46 / 1:47 pace and looked like maintaining it. I can never resist racing these things in the end, especially when I plan on a negative split plan anyway. It’s much more fun trying to reel people in than just going at a fast steady pace. I passed Doug somewhere in the second 5min segment I think, leaving Bjorn and Dave C some way ahead. Coming to half way they were around +40m (Bjorn) and +30m (Dave) ahead, and I was up to 1:47’s now to maintaining the gap. Inside the last 10mins I caught and passed Dave, but Bjorn wasn’t showing any signs of slowing down.

I knew I had a fair bit left, but had no idea what Bjorn had in hand. I hoped that when I stepped the pace up at 5mins to go that Bjorn wouldn’t, but as I pushed to 1:45’s Bjorn was on 1:44’s. This was going to be a hard fight. I planned to hold steady from here to 2mins to go, then step straight up to 1:40’s. Bjorn was up to 1:43’s, but I wanted the big pace change to try to break him. Up to 1:40’s and he was still pushing out 1:42’s and 1:43’s, and still around 20m up! We both gradually pushed the pace down into the final minute. Coming towards 30sec to go and both now pulling 1:35 or just under and Bjorn still has a 10m lead. Only one thing for it, sprint flat out from 30sec and see what’s there! 1:23’s down the line finishing with a 1:24 final stroke was just enough to pull out to a massive 1m lead at the finish! It might have looked like the perfectly timed sprint finish, but it was simply giving everything I could in the final 150m hoping to overhaul as much of the lead as possible.

30mins = 8428m / 1:46.7 / 26
5min splits:
1:49.4 / 25
1:48.5 / 25
1:47.9 / 25
1:46.9 / 26
1:46.6 / 26
1:41.4 / 29

A fun row, and it always feels good to kill the end of a middle distance row and watch the average split drop stroke by stroke.

Leave a Reply

 
