Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

I have trained this week….

Posted by thepeteplan on April 30, 2010

…. since I got back from Oman a week ago. Sometimes it seems tough to get back into it properly after travelling though, which is odd as I trained while I was away. A week of heat, working long days, travelling, and the odd beer in the hotel bar is obviously tiring though.

I didn’t train Friday or Saturday. The first day back training on Sunday I only got through 5k at a fairly slow pace before I just felt lacking in energy so called it a day there. Monday was 11k at around 1:52 pace, so that was better. Tuesday I felt tired again and did just 6k at around 1:48. Wednesday I needed to force myself back into proper training by doing some intervals. As I didn’t feel up to doing the normal 1:40 paced 5k training I thought I’d better do longer reps:

3 x 2k / 5min rest:
6:49.7 / 1:42.4 / 28
6:49.3 / 1:42.3 / 29
6:39.8 / 1:39.9 / 30
Totals: 20:18.8 / 1:41.5 / 29

I’m not sure what happened to Thursday then. I didn’t get time to train at work, and plain forgot in the evening.

Today’s effort at lunchtime:

45mins = 12404m / 1:48.8 / 25

Gradually negative split from a 1:50.0 first 5mins to a 1:44.8 last 5mins. Felt really good today and relatively easy, so I think I’m back into it now. 3 weeks tomorrow to the Farnborough 5k, and so 3 weeks Sunday to the pairs 100k.

Leave a Reply

 
