Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Part of a 10k, then a 7min piece

Posted by thepeteplan on April 12, 2010

As  I am going to be away for work for a while from later this week I want to make sure the last few days of training really count, as I don’t know what gym access I might have while I’m away. I felt good today, and fancied doing a hard middle distance row, so picked the 10k. I targetting a (too ambitious) 1:43 to 1:44 pace to set off at, which had to be revised during the first quarter of the row, and then abandoned altogether.

1250m warm up, then:

4k warm up = 13:55.9 / 1:44.5 / 27
1k splits:
1:43.4 / 28
1:43.8 / 27
1:44.7 / 27
1:45.9 / 26

The gym was hotter and much more humid than it’s been so far this year, so it was obvious by the levels of sweat inside the first 2k that the pace would not be sustainable. I decided at that point to “pyramid pace” it, ie get gradually slower through the middle, then speed back up towards the end. I decided rather than carry on what would end up being a very tough row to abandon it in favour of this month’s Cross Team Challenge instead through coming up to the 4min mark. Part of the motivation for this was that with the work trip away I wasn’t going to get another opportunity to try this during April.

7min CTC = 2152m / 1:37.5 / 30
1min splits:
1:36.7 / 33
1:39.3 / 30
1:39.0 / 30
1:38.6 / 30
1:38.0 / 30
1:37.0 / 30
1:34.9 / 33

Not incredably fast, but a well paced and executed row I think, right of 6:30 pace for 2k, but 7.5% further, and a good negative split pattern after the 5 hard strokes at the start. A more respectable entry for the team anyway, and good enough for a current second place, and taking the MAD Team boat to the top of the table at:

http://www.c2ctc.com/

I finished off the session with a 2k cool down:

2k = 7:26.9 / 1:51.7 / 23

And therefore salvaged a reasonable training session out of the abandoned 10k attempt in the end.

Leave a Reply

 
