Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Challenges and Boston

Posted by thepeteplan on February 2, 2010

Thanks for the comment yesterday Phil. I certainly think you’re right on both counts, that a lot of the battle with good times on the 2k in mental, and that I need to be careful not to burn myself out over the next 10 days trying to get the extra second or two off the time.

Today was a steady distance day, but I was feeling tired this afternoon so didn’t feel like doing too much at the gym. I started off with a steady 5k, then put in a time for the facebook challenge. There are 3 challenges I try to put in a time for each month – the concept2 challenge series (2500m this month), the Cross Team Challenge (1min sprint this month), and the facebook challenge (200m this month). I prioritise them in that order as I want to do as well as I can on the challenge series, I always submit a time in the CTC but don’t mind if it’s not the best I can do, and the facebook challenge I don’t always even do.

5000m = 18:37.2 / 1:51.7 / 24

200m = 31.4sec / 1:18.5 / 53

I nudged the drag up from a usual 130 to 143 for the 200m sprint. I could go faster on a higher drag, but as you can see from the rate this is just a flat out sprint for me at this drag. It doesn’t resemble that much of a normal erging stroke but I do believe it’s worth having a good sprint ability when it comes to the final 200m in a 2k.

I then did a 1k paddle and put in an initial time for the CTC too, just stroking it through strongly a bit under 2k pace.

1k = 1:53.0 / 23

1min = 334m / 1:29.8 / 35

So the Crash B’s are now about 12 days away, and I fly in 9 days time. Other than the racing it’s a fun event, and this will be my third time there (2004, 2009, 2010). Lots of friends from around the world including ex-olympians like John and Joan Van Blom. Two people I coach are now going, one in the women’s 30+ hwt and one in the women’s 40+ hwt, if they race on form the former should get a top 10 finish, and the later has a good shot at being in the medals. On the Saturday there is an International competitors lunch put on which is always good fun. It even includes a free bar, which is a bit odd the day before the race, but perhaps a good tactic by the Americans? Then there is of course the night after the race. I may have been twice before, but I don’t remember much about that evening…..

Leave a Reply

 
