Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

1200, 800, 500 – race pace practice

Posted by thepeteplan on February 1, 2010

There are still 10 potential training days left before flying to Boston, so a lot of quality metres for me to still put in. Today’s session was set up as a 1200m, 800m, 500m session with the aim of a negative split on the first two to finish in the time I want in Boston (6:19.9). The 500m on the end is to prove to myself that the 1200 and 800 before weren’t maximal because, well, they don’t seem to let you take a 6min break in the middle of your race in Boston for some reason.

3k warm up then:

1200m = 3:49.1 / 1:35.4 / 32
6min rest
800m = 2:30.8 / 1:34.2 / 32
4min rest
500m = 1:33.7 / 33

Exactly 6:19.9 from the first two reps. I worked out in the rest time that I needed 2:30.9 or better to make the target, so made sure the projected time was on 2:30 towards the end of that rep. These type of workouts are more for pacing confidence, I need to do some harder (as in faster pace) intervals to enable me to both be a little more below max in the middle, and have a stronger finish. I am getting close to being confident of breaking 6:20 in Boston, but not quite there yet. I know it is still some way off my pb, but with the training interuptions over the past few months it will still be a very solid time to work off for 2010.

One Response to “1200, 800, 500 – race pace practice”

  1. phil said

    As you often write Pete, more than half the battle in achieving a fast 2K is mental. I think you can dip below 6.20 in Boston if you don’t burn yourself out in the next couple of weeks. With all your 10 K prep recently the muscular endurance is certainly there.

    Good luck!

    Phil

Leave a Reply

 
