Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Training with the pros

Posted by thepeteplan on January 22, 2010

Lunchtime training today with one of my MAD Team friends who rows on the GB squad. He wanted to do a fairly short reps session as a pace tester for a 5k test next week. We picked 2 x 6min30 reps, and as he was using it as a 5k pace tester I decided to go for the pace I thought I could do for a 5k currently for the first rep.

My splits were:
1913m / 1:41.9 / 29
1960m / 1:39.4 / 30

His were:
2066m / 1:34.3 / 29
2073m / 1:34.0 / 29

He is taller than me, but currently I think he is lighter than me. Quite a reality check training alongside someone of this standard, who was on his second of three training sessions today. I find it really motivational though to reinforce what is actually possible if you’re willing to put the time and effort in.

Still a way off form at the moment, but feeling good about training and getting that pace back. Also down to 92.6kg this morning from the 93.4 earlier in the week, and still aiming to be sub 90kg again before Boston.

Leave a Reply

 
