Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Thoughts of Boston….

Posted by thepeteplan on January 19, 2010

Since my last entry of the 4 x 1200m session while I was away in Seattle I’ve been ill. A couple of very below par training sessions in the last few days in Seattle were an early sign, but after finally getting back to England last Wednesday I then spent much of the next two days in bed, not aiding the recovery from jetlag which was also needed. Despite the fact that 3 trips to the west coast of the US in the past 2 months, and the associated 8 hour time shifts each, have affected my training pretty badly I now find myself considering going to Boston for the world indoor rowing championships. The problem is this is less than 4 weeks away now, another 7+ hour plane trip, and I’m only just trying to recover from the last lot of jetlag and last week’s illness. Today’s session was to be a tester on whether to go or not, but more on that later – what training have I done since that illness last week?

Saturday – I got together with a couple of people I coach to put down a marker for the 1k team challenge we have on this month. As the first session back from illness a 1k is not the best, so it had to be somewhat controlled.

1k = 3:08.7 / 1:34.3 / 32
200m splits:
1:35.0 / 32
1:35.0 / 32
1:35.0 / 32
1:34.7 / 32
1:32.2 / 34

Sunday and Monday were then both moderate paced 10k’s – this is not to say they were easy, the letlag seems to really have had an effect on my longer distance endurance.

Sunday – 10k average 1:53.9

Monday – aim to beat yesterday’s 10k:

10k = 36:48.3 / 1:50.4 / 25
2k split:
1:52.1 / 25
1:51.3 / 25
1:50.9 / 25
1:49.9 / 25
1:47.7 / 26

Much faster than the day before, and felt easier.

Tonights session was planned as a tester. A make or break as to whether to consider going to Boston or not. A simple target of 2 x 1k with a 5 min rest between of sub 1:35.0. For some reason I expected this session to go one way or the other – either I would fail badly on the second rep, or I would feel great on the second rep and smash it well under target.

2 x 1k / 5min rest:
3:09.9 / 1:34.9 / 33
3:09.9 / 1:34.9 / 32

This is good really on the recovery path from illness, but for some reason it’s always annoying when you make a target exactly by the smallest margin possible. Had I targetted 1:34.9 then 1:33.9 could I have made it? I’m not sure I couldn’t have, so that’s a good sign. Hmm….

Leave a Reply

 
