Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

It’s all about the training effect

Posted by thepeteplan on January 8, 2010

That’s what I had to tell myself 3 reps into today’s session in order to even start the 4th.

I was supposed to be back home by now. The ice age those of you are experiencing in the UK at the moment is stopping us getting back from Seattle though, so we’re here for an extra 5 days so far.

Back to today’s session. A few others have done this one earlier in the week, so as with all good coaches I thought I’d best not put them through anything I’m not willing to do myself. Is a 4 x 1200m session a longer, harder 4 x 1k, or a shorter, easier 4 x 2k? Well really it is the short end of the middle distance rep sessions, so really it’s more a short 4 x 2k than a long 4 x 1k. With this in mind, the performances by other people this week on this session, and the fact that I’m not putting in a high enough training volume at the moment I decided to push it a bit harder than I normally would. The story of the session went like this:

Rep 1 = 3:57.3 / 1:38.8 / 30

This rep felt ok. Pretty consistent 1:39’s through it, and fairly confident of maintaining pace. On subsequent reps I always take a rolling start into the rep to aim to get the average pace right on from the start.

Rep 2 = 3:59.4 / 1:39.7 / 30

This is where it all started to go wrong. I messed up the rolling start completely and found myself on a 3:30 average pace after a couple of strokes! It took a couple of hundred metres just to get the average under 1:50, and probably a 1:36 first 500m to get the average finally under 1:40! Needless to say this rep took a lot more out of me than the time would show.

Rep 3 = 3:57.9 / 1:39.1 / 31

This rep was pretty tough after the rep before. I had handle down thoughts, but decided to forget the last rep and just make this one good. In the rest before rep 4 I decided that it was the training effect that counts, and I should do the final rep as planned even if slower.

Rep 4 = 4:02.9 / 1:41.2 / 29

No tougher than rep 3 due to the slower pace, and glad to get the session finished.

Totals = 4800m / 15:57.5 / 1:39.7 / 30

It seems like a pretty good session, but in reality I’ve done a lot of 5k’s at and under this pace before, so everything has to be put in perspective!

Leave a Reply

 
