Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

BIRC 2009

Posted by thepeteplan on November 22, 2009

It’s hard getting access to the laptop when you have a BIRC championship record holder in the house – they take priority on blogging…

My race first – as I said in the previous entry I was going to be content with sub 6:20 and happy with 6:17 – as it was I went right in the middle of the range with a 6:18.5. I got a great start then went right to plan on 1:35’s for the majority of the race. I was in 7th place after about 200m, then pulled up to 5th place by 500m in. That’s where it stayed, and 4th pulled out towards 20m ahead, 6th towards 20m behind. As a pb wasn’t on, and I didn’t see a way of catching up to 4th position, I made the decision to wait till the latest possible moment to just pip DCs time – I couldn’t let someone I coach beat me, could I? I had to laugh to myself when I finished to see the identical time as DC had finish in earlier in the day. :lol: Overall I’m happy enough with the time, how I rowed it, and how it felt. I don’t think the splits will be too far away from 1:34.9, 1:34.9, 1:34.9, 1:33.7 as I pretty much kept the average on 1:34.9 for the majority of the first 3/4s of the race.

The day overall was great. In the first race Shirley with the gold, championship record and pb, Hannah with silver and a pb, and Jo with silver (even though disappointed with the time). DC’s great pb was a highlight to watch, as was Stu Williams’ win in the 35-39. Mike Wrenn with a great 7:07, Jen’s bronze in the W30-34, and numerous other great performances. It was a very inspiring event this year to watch friends row great performances, and some of the top names rowing good times too like Debbie Flood and the GB guys.

Not really too much more to say, other than I’m looking forward to the next 2k race now hopefully without the training interuption before it.

One Response to “BIRC 2009”

  1. Greg Forbes said

    Well done Pete.

Leave a Reply

 
