Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Another odd interval session…

Posted by thepeteplan on October 24, 2009

I continue to plan out carefully other people’s build up to BIRC, and make mine up as I warm up on the erg at the gym. The problem with making up a session on a Saturday morning while you warm up on the erg is that what seems like a good idea at the time doesn’t seem like such a good idea as you wake up more part way through the session.

10min warm up = 2688m / 1:52.4 / 23

1609m = 5:08.9 / 1:35.9 / 31
6min rest
1000m = 3:11.8 / 1:35.9 / 31
5min rest
750m = 2:23.2 / 1:35.4 / 31
4min rest
500m = 1:34.5 / 32

Totals = 12:18.4 / 3859m / 1:35.6 / 31

The actual plan in my head was 1:36, 1:35, 1:34, 1:33 before I started rep 1. In the first rest period I decided that would inflict too much pain for a Saturday morning!

A strange session this one – the first rep is the length of a normal “5k paced” interval session, but a good 3 to 4 seconds faster pace. Not quite fast enough to make it a lactic acid hell, but enough to get you breathing hard and your legs knowing that they’re on that edge. The subsequent reps you then go through the first 250m thinking “this is easy, I can go much faster”, then the next 250m being glad you that didn’t believe that false feeling! A mentally a physically tough session, but without the planned strong negative split not the painful session it could have so easily been. Don’t get me wrong, I have no plans of trying it any faster any time soon!

Work potentially gets in the way of racing:

The next race I was planning on doing was the Newark mile race on 7th November. Newark is the only race I have attended every year I’ve been doing erg races, since 2001. It will be a shame, but it looks like I will likely miss both that race, and a week of training, due to work commitments! Although the timing is a little awkward, it works quite well as the project then shouldn’t interfere with the final week of BIRC training – as that’s all there would be left when I got back!

Leave a Reply

 
