Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The 2k that wasn’t to be…

Posted by thepeteplan on October 11, 2009

The plan for today was to do a fast 2k with a group of 4 other people, 3 of which are sub6 ergers. One by one they dropped out over the past week until it was left with just two of us today. As I think I wrote in my last blog entry I had to drop out of the session myself on Thursday due to work travel, but by the end of the day could do it again. The 10k on Friday should perhaps have told me that my mental state for hard efforts isn’t perfect at the moment.

The session went like this:

10mins warm up = 2685m / 1:52.4 / 24
 
2k attempt:
approx 1450m average 1:34.2
500m splits: 1:33.1 / 34, 1:34.8 / 33
 
5min rest, then time to make something out of the session.
 
1609m = 5:10.2 / 1:36.3 / 31
400m splits:
1:36.8 / 30
1:36.2 / 31
1:36.3 / 31
1:36.1 / 31
 
500m = 1:34.9 / 33
 
4 x 100m / 1min rest:
1:18.5 / 53 (150drag)
1:19.5 / 49 (160drag)
1:19.5 / 57 (130drag)
1:25.0 / 43 (120drag)
So what went wrong with the 2k? It didn’t feel like a 2k test from the start, my head just wasn’t in it. I started fine, through the first 500m about on pb pace, but then drifted off to 1:35’s. Not the plan, but still setting me up for a good 2k time. It got to half way and the other guy was obviously feeling it less than I was and stopped. Ok, no big deal I feel ok so block that out of my mind. I was still pulling 1:35’s, but was happy to let the pace slowly drift up with thoughts of a fast finish to bring it in at least under 6:16 (1:34.0). I like to me in my own zone on pieces like this, and don’t respond well to encouragement – a race situation with lots of noise is fine, but verbal encouragement directed at me in an otherwise quiet atmosphere just takes away my concentration. Approaching 600m to go I just didn’t have the mental energy to push on for a time I wouldn’t be overly happy with.
Of course I was then annoyed at not finishing the 2k, hence doing a short paddle, then setting 1609m on the clock to put in an initial score for this month’s challenge series. I won’t lie, the second half of that mile felt pretty tough after the hard 1450m before it!
Best to get these bad rows out of the way outside competition! The plan for getting back on the horse is to continue with the 2k rate progression with the 26spm version this week, 28spm next week, then perhaps another free rate 2k test following that.
One Response to “The 2k that wasn’t to be…”

  1. silvio said

    pete, what was the rationale behind changing the drag factor in the 100 meters sessions?

Leave a Reply

 
