Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

2k @ 24spm, trying to keep up

Posted by thepeteplan on October 7, 2009

Or rather trying to catch up a little. A few other people under my instruction have been doing this 2k rate progression with good results, so it was time for me to get on with the next step in the progression.

Previous results were:
12th September – 2k = 6:45.5 / 1:41.2 / 22
6th September – 2k = 6:52.8 / 1:43.2 / 20

So today’s aim for the 2k @ 24spm was another 2second reduction in pace to 1:39.2, though I really wanted to go under 6:36, and that was the aim I went in with.

10min warm up = 1:51.7 / 24 / 2700m

2k = 6:34.4 / 1:38.6 / 24
500m splits:
1:38.2 / 24
1:38.4 / 24
1:38.7 / 25
1:39.1 / 24

Happy with that being a little ahead of target. The next step at 26spm should be comfortably under 6:30 now, and I think I need it to be at least 6:27 to have a chance of breaking 6:20 once I get to the 28spm version.

The great thing about doing this progression of 2ks is that you can bound your capabilities well from the previous row. I looked back in my training diary an hour before going to the gym to find the 2k r22, and because I’d done a 1:41.2 for that I knew I would be faster than that. Sub 1:40 pace had to be a given, and so with a target of 2sec pace improvement for each 2spm rate increase, the 1:39 target couldn’t be far off. Continuing this progression up means that at each step you can work off that previous step in the same way. At worst you know you’ll be faster, even if only by a second in pace, and knowing that in your mind can help you through the middle.

For this 24spm effort I knew it was 2.5seconds per stroke, so I aimed to take each second catch on a 5 or 0, so a catch on 0, 2.5sec, 5, 7.5, 10 and so on. This passed the first half pretty quickly, I then obviously got slightly out of time in the 3rd quarter, but back on track in the 4th. All in all a solid effort that I’m happy with, and happy that I am fully recovered from the cold now and back to 100%.

One Response to “2k @ 24spm, trying to keep up”

  1. Greg Forbes said

    My progression is also going well, 2+ seconds less each time, did the 24 spm yesterday. By 32 spm, I will smash my PB, and be near or even under the 7 minute mark. Everyone who wants a PB should try this method.

Leave a Reply

 
