Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Back to the intervals

Posted by thepeteplan on October 5, 2009

After 7 days without doing a hard training session since the mile race I decided today it was time to take a tentative step back into interval training. I didn’t want to jump back in too deep, so picked the easy end of AT intervals.

1500m warm up = 1:52.9 / 23

4 x 1250m / 5min rest:
4:08.6 / 1:39.4 / 29
4:08.2 / 1:39.2 / 29
4:08.0 / 1:39.2 / 30
4:03.5 / 1:37.4 / 31

5k = 16:28.2 / 1:38.8 / 29

Also about 2.5k of recovery interval metres. Felt good to do a bit of work at pace again, even if it is only 5k pace first off rather than any faster.

I warmed down with 10mins on the stepper, then did a few weights to finish off – cleans and bent over rows. The cleans I find are great for whole body power, but doing them once every couple of months probably doesn’t help me a great deal! I really should do them more often.

I feel much better about my general condition having done just this one fairly straight forward interval session. I enjoyed going just a little faster in the final rep, always good to get a bit more pace down just to reinforce that you have more to give.

Leave a Reply

 
