Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Always have a plan

Posted by thepeteplan on October 4, 2009

I should know as well as anyone that if you go into a session without any real plan of what you’re going to do the sessions tends not to be a good one. If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.

I started off today thinking I would just do an easy recovery type distance piece, making sure I’m fully recovered from the illness earlier in the week, and ready to start putting some hard training in again this week. So I started off hitting just row:

20:39.2 / 5392m / 1:54.9 / 22spm

With no plan, and feeling a little lazy, I just got bored. I then thought as I’m well warmed up now I may as well set 10k and go a little faster than the 10k yesterday, which should be fairly comfortable. Aim just to sit on 1:47 pace. I only got as far as 2k at 1:46.9 / 26spm and I just didn’t have the mental energy to carry on for some reason. I could have not bothered blogging this session, but for completeness it’s best to keep record of the bad as well as the good.

I then got on the stepper and did 20mins just to make it a decent cardio session.

It’s amazing how just 7 days off hard erg sessions can make you feel like you don’t have the capability to row fast any more. My thoughts are ahead to the potential 2k test next Sunday, and right now I feel like there’s no way I could get close to my pb pace of 1:33.0, depite having rowed 1609m at 1:32.4 pace just 7 days ago. Physically, as long as I’m fully recovered from the cold I can hold pb pace. Mentally I have lost a lot having a week off. It will come back within 2 quality hard sessions though, which hopefully I will feel up to this week – watch this space!

Leave a Reply

 
