Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

A 10k for the CTC

Posted by thepeteplan on October 3, 2009

What better to do at 9.30am on a Saturday morning than go out to your garage, set 10000m on the PM4, and put in a first time for the CTC. I’d been up for less than an hour, and have done a cumulative 8k at a slow pace since the race last Sunday. Still not feeling 100% it was going to be a tentative first attempt looking to go just under 36mins.

10k = 35:48.7 / 1:47.4 / 25
2k splits:
1:48.3 / 25
1:47.5 / 25
1:47.7 / 25
1:47.6 / 25
1:45.8 / 26

I could have quite happily stopped at any point from about 2k in and just gone back to bed and slept some more. I know as well as anyone else that you don’t lose anything physically after a few days off, and to be fair although it felt somewhat hard by 2k in, it didn’t feel any harder for the next 8k really. Hopefully I will feel better with each session back, and as I said in the last blog entry I will decide by about Wednesday whether I will go for the 2k test next Sunday or not. If we’re still getting together for a session anyway I think I would do a slightly sub maximal 2k if the flat out 2k doesn’t seem like a good idea, and that would mean sub 6:20 anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
