Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

5 x 1500 and psychology

Posted by thepeteplan on August 27, 2009

I took a rest day on Monday after the long intervals on Sunday, and yesterday did a mixed cardio session of treadmill, stepper, rowing and cross trainer. This let me fairly fresh today for a hard erg session.

I would just post the results of today’s session and say no more, but I think it would be obvious (to some) that I was just testing myself against Jason Hewitt’s session yesterday (Jason came second to me in the first race of the Grand Prix mile series in Evesham back in July). If I decide to go up to Grimsby for the race in a few weeks time Jason will be the main competition (regardless of who else turns up) for the series win for Evesham, Grimsby and Newark. Jason had done a solid session yesterday starting at 1:42.5 or so, and neg splitting down to a strong last rep of close to 1:40 dead.

I like to feed off recent sessions to know what I can do, and give myself the confidence of actually doing it. As I averaged 1:39.9 for the 4 x 2k on 14th Aug I knew there was no excuse not to get the first 4 reps under 1:40, and that I should still then have something left for a faster final rep. So that was the target set. Initial aim was for 1:38.5 on the final rep, and a stretch target of 1:37.5.

5 x 1500m / 5min rest:
4:59.3 / 1:39.7 / 30
4:59.2 / 1:39.7 / 30
4:59.0 / 1:39.6 / 30
4:58.2 / 1:39.4 / 31
4:48.7 / 1:36.2 / 32

7500m = 24:44.4 / 1:38.9 / 30

Last rep felt good, and I’m happy with the pace. I went through half way on about 1:38.0 then just wound it up over the second half to the line. I think this is probably a pb for the session, but I’ve not kept detailed enough records to know without searching back through old training logs.

Leave a Reply

 
