Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Race day approaches

Posted by thepeteplan on May 26, 2009

There is not much time left for hard sessions before the 5k race on Saturday now. I am in the fortunate position of knowing the pb’s of all the people racing, and so knowing who my competition is (this was essential for seeding purposes in the races). In terms of seeded times I should be the second fastest on the day. The fastest guy is in the 20+ race, and has a personal best nearly 1min faster than mine – in 5k terms that is huge. So I put him on the erg next to me in my race so we can try to give each other¬† a bit of a race. He is a team mate of mine, but it’s been years since we trained together, so it should be fun. I just need to convince myself there is nothing to lose in going for an aggressive race plan as I should be a fair way clear of the next person behind.

Training – today:

I wasn’t feel well today and nearly ditched the session after the warm up. I decided to take it one rep at a time though and at least get some work done at 5k pace:

8 x 750m / 1min rest:
2:29.7 / 1:39.8 / 31
2:29.6 / 1:39.7 / 31
2:29.6 / 1:39.7 / 31
2:29.5 / 1:39.6 / 31
2:29.3 / 1:39.5 / 31
2:29.5 / 1:39.6 / 31
2:29.3 / 1:39.5 / 31
2:27.9 / 1:38.6 / 31

Ave = 1:39.5 / 31

A good solid session overall.

Training – bank holiday weekend:

Apart from yesterday when I did a steady 10k on the erg (1:50.0 / 25) the weekend was a weekend of first. Saturday morning was my first reasonable length training bike ride of the years, about 20miles in about an hour. Sunday morning was my first run of the year – around 9k in around 40mins (I deliberately didn’t even take a watch). Then I went to the gym in the afternoon to practice something I’d been getting tips on from watching youtube videos – standing on a swiss ball. Rather than being “that guy” in the gym who looks stupid trying to show off doing stuff like this I got a few other people together too so we could look stupid in a group. 2 instructors and 3 gym users all on the mats with people and balls flying in all directions. I managed it though, and by the end of a 40min session was able to stand pretty comfortably on both the large and small swiss balls. I’ll take a camera sometime when the gym is quiet again for evidence…

Leave a Reply

 
