Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Working up to the 5k

Posted by thepeteplan on May 22, 2009

Wednesday:

This is a session I usually use as a predictor session for the 5k, and one I decided to do earlier than planned to give me the opportunity to do at again before race day if I felt I could have gone faster.

6 x 1k / 1R:
3:21.7 / 1:40.8 / 31
3:21.6 / 1:40.8 / 31
3:21.2 / 1:40.6 / 30
3:20.8 / 1:40.4 / 31 <– feeling ok
3:21.9 / 1:40.9 / 31 <– just making sure the last will be on target
3:19.2 / 1:39.6 / 31 <– didn’t feel harder than the one before

6k = 20:06.3 / 1:40.5 / 31

So if the pace prediction is good that would give me a 16:45 for 5k, which I’d be reasonably happy with, though 16:39 would be a lot better.

I also did a 45minute “fitball” class in the evening. I enjoy working out using the swiss ball (though never do…), so thought it would be a good class to try out for some ideas. Also the class was held in the room we’re racing the 5k’s in next weekend, so a good chance to check out the room (size, temperature etc).

Thursday:

40mins = 10500m / 1:54.2 / 23

A steady aerobic row, nothing more, nothing less.

Friday:

The sun is shining, the sky is blue, and it’s the Friday before a bank holiday weekend. I didn’t really feel like going to the gym at all, especially the un-airconditioned work gym. I picked a fairly short session to end the hard sessions for the week of 2 x 2k with the first at 5k target pace, and the second a little faster, then put that together into a 4 x 2k workout using first and last as a warm up and cool down.

2k = 7:33.6 / 1:53.4 / 24
3min rest
2k = 6:39.9 / 1:39.9 / 30
6min rest
2k = 6:35.9 / 1:38.9 / 31
3min rest
2k = 7:35.4 / 1:53.8 / 24

On targets, but for the effort level I would have liked the 2nd of the hard 2k’s to have been a few seconds faster. Currently race day target won’t be to go quite as fast as the first 2k at the start though, aiming to get to 2k to go feeling like there is still a chance of finishing (if you’re sure of finishing at this stage of a 5k you didn’t go fast enough!). So the plan as it stands now will be a few hard strokes off the start, settle to 1:40-1:41 and not hit any 1:39’s until 2000m remaining. From there start to bring the pace down, with the ideal aim of getting to about 500m to go on target at 1:40.0 pace, leaving 500m of simply how much guts do you have to make it hurt, and how many seconds can you take off. Last time I went with this strategy was the last time I raced a 5k, and when I set my current pb. I won the race by about a second, and it hurt a lot. I think in all the 5k venue races I’ve ever done I’ve only not won once when I came second to Graham Kirk back in about 2002! Saying that, I think I have only done 4 or 5 venue 5k races… they don’t come around very often.

Of course I am in the bonus situation this time of knowing who the competition is, and what their pb / predicted times are from the entries. Usually this is pretty easy info to find out anyway, but it can always be useful to know. Currently Rich Blagrove is the fastest of the entrants, and is racing in the 19-29 category, so I plan to stick him on the machine next to me (his pb is about a minute faster than mine however!!).

Leave a Reply

 
