Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Entries close…

Posted by thepeteplan on May 19, 2009

Training first:

Lunch time session in the gym at work + no aircon on a humid day = too much sweat.

10k = 36:39.3 / 1:49.9 / 26spm

Splits for those interested: 1:51.2, 1:50.4, 1:50.1, 1:50.0, 1:47.9

I also decided that as I didn’t make it past week 2 of the 100 press ups challenge, for one reason or another, I would go back and start at the beginning. Week 1 Day 1 was 5 sets with 60seconds rest between of 10, 12, 7, 7, 11.

The row was fine apart from too much sweat on a humid day. As regular readers will know I did plan on going for a fast marathon (under the 19-29 British record time, as although I’m 31 the 30-39 was set by a freak of nature) at some point this year, which would need to be done at this pace for a little over 4 times the distance. Hopefully I will still get to that though I will either need to find a seriously airconditioned place, or wait till the winter.

Farnborough 5k:

Today is the close of entries. Up to this point I have no real idea who of the people who said they would enter actually have entered as I have not seen the final entry list yet. Hopefully those of you attending will get to see a number of world class athletes performing through the day in both the main 5k races, and the 1min sprints. Who will be the people to beat? On the male side hopefully we’ll have Rich Blagrove in the 20+ as the man to beat, and Nik Fleming in the 40+ as the man noone will beat (he is the world record holder after all). In the 30+ who will I have to contend with? As Rich, Nik and I all compete for the same team will you let us have a clean sweep of the main male hwt categories?

On the female side I am hoping both Emma Coone and Hannah Hawkins have got their entries in for the 30+. This could be the race to watch and it will be intesting to see how open the two of them are about their training performances over the next couple of weeks. As I coach them both hopefully I will see how they’re going!

Then on the 1min sprints we should have a few of the world record holding sprint relay team going for big scores – of that 2004 WR team we should have Rob Smith (also the 100, 300 and 500 WR holder), Kev Peebles, me, and perhaps Nik will give it a go. Graham Lay will be trying to mix it up with the big boys in the sprint and could cause an upset at the top of the table – I would say sub 1:20 is world class for this event (in terms of pace), but I think it’s going to take close to a 1:15 average to top the table.

I will be picking up the competition ergs from Concept2 in Nottingham the day before the race and hopefully begin setting up on the Friday evening – if you’re staying in the hotel feel free to give me a hand!

On a final point, 5k races are fairly long compared to the more traditional 2k races, so some music during the races might be good. Does anyone have any good motivational mix CD’s they wouldn’t mind us using during the middle of the races? If so drop me an email to thepeteplan@gmail.com. Also if anyone is a budding sports commentator and fancy giving it a go during a race or two, also drop me a line and let me know.

See you all there!

Leave a Reply

 
