Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The race is on

Posted by thepeteplan on April 2, 2009

The Farnborough 5k is on for Saturday 30th May 2009, and the entry form is now available here:

http://rowing.dyn-o-saur.com/FARN2009/

The racing is taking place in the Velocity gym within the Village hotel in Farnborough:

http://www.village-hotels.co.uk/Hotels/farnborough/

Entries cost £10 for the 5000m races, and £1 per attempt in the 1min sprint. Entries must be in advance for the 5k, but 1min entries can be made on the day, and you can race it as many times as you like. As a competitor in the 5k races you will get free use of all the leisure facilities for the day (gym, pool, spa) for you and your cox (supporter, friend, whatever). For £10 that is great value when I guest pass to the gym will cost you £15 each!

Also there will be a special rate arranged for anyone wanting to stay in the hotel for the Friday and / or Saturday nights – just send me an email if you want to do that and I’ll let you know when the final negotiations are complete. Race categories for the 5k will go from J18, then in 10 year age groups from 19-29, 30-39 up to 70+, in both male and female, heavyweight and lightweight (lightweight being 75kg / 11stone11 and under for men, 65kg / 9stone9 and under for women). Prizes will be given to the top 3 in each category.

Any questions or comments on the racing, please just reply to this message.

Training:

I didn’t think the 60mins on Sunday was overly hard, but it seems it might have been. I didn’t train on Monday due to taking my brother in law to the airport to fly home. Tuesday the planned session was 3 x 20mins and I only got through one. Wednesday I had a first attempt at the new CTC challenge of 6k and managed a 1:43.7 pace – about what I was aiming for as an initial attempt, but it felt a lot harder than it should have. Then last night I felt very ill, and was in bed by 8pm with no dinner, sleeping through to 7am this morning. As a precaution I didn’t train today.

I also have another issue – weight. I race best at around 190-195lbs. When I got back from Boston I tipped the scales at 205lbs and decided that I needed to up my training volume a little to get back to where I like to be. Well with 2 weeks of sporadic training and a bit too much eating and drinking I stood on the scales a couple of days ago and saw 207lbs! Intial aim is to see 199lbs again, then I’ll see where I need to go from there. To think that a couple of months ago I hinted at considering a move towards lightweight!

One Response to “The race is on”

  1. shirleygkn said

    Ever thought of the possibility of opening entries to include those unable to attend to compete on RowPro (or recorded on Log Card) to coincide with your event? Entry fee to be paid in advance of course.

    Just a thought! Could present too many complications perhaps.

Leave a Reply

 
