Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Steady distance work

Posted by thepeteplan on January 19, 2009

I  seem to have a very loose interpretation of the word “steady”.  My training is generally alternating days of harder and easier sessions – not necessary flat out and very easy, but I try to keep a clear constrast between the two. So today’s “steady” distance piece would generally be around 1:50-1:53 pace. Sometimes though I just can’t help but start at the fast end of steady, and still negative split. I also find that if I get into a pattern with the splits I don’t want to break the pattern – once the second 2k split was about a second faster than the first the precedence was set.

10k = 35:56.4 / 1:47.8 / 25
2k splits:
1:49.9 / 24
1:48.8 / 25
1:47.7 / 25
1:46.9 / 26
1:45.6 / 27

So A good solid training piece, but a little on the fast side for a steady day. If I was to do all of my steady pieces at this sort of level it would begin to impact on the quality of the harder pieces during the week.

Again finished off with 60 Jamie’s and 3 x 12 Waddell’s. Will commented to my previous entry to ask what these exercises are – I have described them a couple of times before in previous entries, and I do still intend to get hold of a video camera at some point to upload a demonstration. They are just two abdominal exercises done on the erg, one a sit up from the normal erg position, the other done in a press up position with your toes on the seat, hands on the floor behind the rower.

Edit: Here is a link to a previous description of the two exercises:

https://thepeteplan.wordpress.com/2008/11/25/under-the-weather/

Leave a Reply

 
