Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Boston

Posted by thepeteplan on January 13, 2009

Monday training:

I started off with a solid 3k warm up, but it was one of those days that I knew that my legs were feeling fatigued. I really should change the plan on these days, and do a steady distance piece instead. However, the plan was to do a 2k with the first 1500m even paced at 1:35.0 then a fast final 500m. I started it twice, and on each occasion didn’t get as far as 500m in. The 60mins on Sunday was too fast for a steady distance piece, with the last 20mins of it pushed reasonably hard, so it was no wonder really.

Tuesday training:

Today I decided to have a first go at the CTC for this month, which is a 30min piece. I set a pb for the 30mins in December, so I’m in pretty good shape for a fast one. For a first attempt I decided to go for 1:45 steady until 5mins to go, then push hard over the final 5mins. It went like this:

30mins = 8632m / 1:44.2 / 28
5min splits:
1:44.7 / 29
1:44.8 / 28
1:44.8 / 28
1:44.8 / 28
1:44.6 / 29
1:41.8 / 30

A pretty solid row all in all, and although by no means easy it felt good.

Other training:

I have also donned my cycling gear this week and cycled to work both yesterday and today. It’s only a short journey each way (3miles), but a good way to ease back into the road cycling (not that I really did all that much last year!).

I also finished off today’s workout with 60 Jamie’s and 3 x 10 Waddell’s, as I do for half my sessions now.

Boston:

I made the decision to go to Boston, so on Sunday 22nd February 2009 I will be competing in the 30-39 heavy weight category in the World Indoor Rowing Championships. That is just 40days away.

For anyone else going I, and many of the other UK people competing, will be staying here:

http://www.hotelmarlowe.com/

Ask for the “Crash B / Concept2” rate, and it’s a lot cheaper than the website rate. Is anyone else planning on being there?

3 Responses to “Boston”

  1. Will said

    Hi there, don’t know where best to ask this so came here, Sorry. i have just started rowing and have been recommend the pete plan. I was thinking about starting with the beginner training plan and going from there. I have one question. What warm up/ cool down do you recommend for the beginners program?

  2. Tim said

    Good luck in Boston. Fly the flag.

  3. Greg Forbes said

    Hi Pete,

    Good luck in Boston, go fast! Wanted to ask: I’ve used the Pete Plan the past 6 weeks, with good success. I have a 2000m race in Long Beach, CA on 24 Jan. This Saturday- one week out- I wanted to hammer a 10K for the C2 Challenge. Will that hurt my 2k, will one week be a sufficient recovery? AND, how do you you normally handle the taper a week before your important event, such as Boston?
    Many thanks for your informed reply.

    Best regards,

    Greg

Leave a Reply

 
